Quinoa Salad

My friend Megan…

… loves my quinoa salad and suggested we make it for the blog.  What a coincidence that my other friend Jill asked me for some quinoa ideas just the other day!  I originally got this recipe from my other friend Maya, and I’ve changed it slightly for nutritional value as her version used cous cous.  Feel free to try your own favourite vegetables in this salad – there really are no rules! I will mention the kalamata olives really add to this dish, the salty brine really cuts the richness of the nut hummus.  This salad is packed with protein so you can use it as a main lunch course (as I will be doing this week!).  Alternately it can be used as a side dish.

Serves:  8
Preparation Time:  15 minutes

1 1/2 cups quinoa (you can use any kind of quinoa, red or white)
1 small zucchini cut into half moons
2/3 cup cherry or grape tomatoes, cut in half
1/2 cup pitted kalamata olives, cut in half
2 green onions, finely sliced

for the nut hummus:

1 cup almonds, soaked overnight
1 cup hazelnuts, soaked overnight (you can use any combination of nuts)
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup olive, hemp or flax oil
5 gloves or more of garlic
pinch of cumin
cold water to blend (if necessary)

Quinoa is a very easy grain to cook and it’s packed with protein.  Quinoa is cooked with two parts water to one part quinoa.

Bring to a boil, turn the heat down to minimum, cover and cook for about 20 minutes.

Check to make sure that the water has cooked off and let stand for a few minutes before serving.  In this case, I am going to let stand until cool as I’m making a cold salad.

To make the nut hummus, put all the ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth, or as Davis says, “cookie dough consistency”.

Cut the vegetables.  I usually cut my tomatoes and olives in half lengthwise and my zucchini into half moons.

Toss the vegetables into the cold quinoa and start to add the nut hummus in small amounts.  How much you add is really up to you.  I have used the entire batch with this amount of grain and vegetables.

Serve cold.  Enjoy Jill!

1 Response to “Quinoa Salad”


  1. 1 Jill Cucheron October 3, 2010 at 8:37 am

    Thanks!! The nut hummus looks tasty….


Leave a Reply

