No Cow Macaroni and Cheese

I’ve been sick all week and after a long day of work with my head pounding and my eyes feeling like they’d been in front of a computer for 9 hours….I wanted a little comfort food.
This is really easy to make and was in a bowl, on the couch, in front of the TV within minutes.

Servings: 4
Preparation Time: 2
Cooking Time: 15

8 ounces brown rice (or other wheat free pasta) macaroni
3 cups Daiya cheddar cheese
3 tablespoons vegan butter
2 cups unsweetened rice milk
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
¼ teaspoon black pepper
¼ teaspoon paprika

1 tbsp spelt flour
rice milk to make slurry (about 1/4 cup)

Boil enough water to accommodate your pasta. Cook according to the instructions on the bag.  Drain, rinse and set aside (while the pasta is cooking, I start my sauce so the draining will actually come near to the end of the making of the sauce).

In a separate pot, melt the butter.
Add the black pepper, paprika and nutritional yeast and stir until blended.


Add the rice milk and over medium heat bring the mixture close to boil.
At this point, I add the cheese.

Daiya cheese is brilliant. It is soy free, and tastes and acts just like real cheese from stretch to melt….this stuff is the best!
In the beginning I wasn’t sure if I should make a whole batch of this recipe as I was home alone and I didn’t know it it would reheat well (as many non dairy cheeses don’t). I remember my brother eating the glutinous, starchy, sticky, Kraft dinner leftovers as a kid and I didn’t know if my cold recipe would come back to life….but Daiya is amazing. Reheated the next day this creamy mix came back just as if it had never cooled down.

Stir constantly as the cheese is melting.

This will take a few minutes, so as I am doing this, I also make a spelt flour slurry in a cup to thicken the sauce a bit.  Take your flour and add a bit of rice milk to it, just enough to make a paste.  When that paste is smooth, add a little more rice milk and keep stirring until its smooth again.  Continue this process until you have a slurry mixture of rice milk and flour that is the consistency of runny wallpaper paste.

Add a bit of the melted cheese mixture into the slurry and stir until combined.  Add a bit more.  Continue to add until the cup is full and then add the slurry mixture back into your sauce (this insures that the flour mix does not heat up too quickly).  Stir until combined and remove from heat.  Continue to stir for a few more minutes.   The thing with spelt flour vs. wheat flour is that spelt is not friendly with heat.  Normally to make this sauce with all purpose flour,  I would have made a roux at the beginning of the process, added my milk and thickened the sauce that way, however this would mean that the spelt flour would be over heat too long and it would not do its thickening job.  This is why I do it at the end.

Taste the sauce to make sure the flour taste has cooked off.  Season with salt more pepper if desired (the Daiya cheese has a fairly strong cheesy taste so this isn’t always necessary).

Add your cheese sauce to your noodles and stir until combined.  You want to make sure you cover each noodle with sauce and that the tubes fill up with cheesy goodness!

Dish into bowls and enjoy.

1 Response to “No Cow Macaroni and Cheese”


  1. 1 Jill Cucheron October 2, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    I’ve been CRAVING mac and cheese for years! Can’t wait to try!


Leave a Reply

