Pumpkin Pie

This is by far my most favourite dessert in the WORLD. Actually, I eat this stuff for breakfast – dessert, smezert! It was top priority to devise a no-soy, no-wheat version of this bad boy. The recipe this year is slightly different as my previous version contained refined sugar in the crust and brown sugar in the filling. I hope you enjoy this new and guiltless version! Happy Holidays!

Yields: 1 9″ pie
Preparation Time: 15 minutes
Bake Time: 40 minutes

1 9″ wheat free pie crust (see my recipe under desserts)
1 398ml organic pureed pumpkin
3/4 cup full fat coconut milk
2 tbsp coconut oil (or you can use Earth Balance)
2 tbsp spelt flour
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp allspice
3 tbsp light organic molasses (not back strap – it is too strong)
3 tbsp agave or maple syrup
1/3 cup Egg Replacer

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

In a high speed blender, blend together the egg replacer, the spelt flour, and the coconut milk until thick and creamy. Make sure you use a spoon to check that there is no dry ingredients left in the corners of the bottom of the blender when the blender is not running.

In a saucepan, combine the remaining ingredients and gently heat until the coconut oil has melted. Remove the mixture from the heat source.

While whisking the pumpkin mixture, begin to add the egg replacer and continue to whisk until it’s completely blended.

Pour the pie filling into the unbaked pie crust.

Bake at 425 for 10 minutes and then reduce the heat to 350 and cook for 30 more minutes. This pie will rise slightly while cooking but will settle when removed it from the oven. You will notice the surface start to crack slightly and this is a good indication that the pie is ready. You will also notice that as you remove the pie from the oven is it quite “jiggly”. Don’t be alarmed, it is indeed done cooking and it will firm as it cools.

Let the pie cool completely before serving or chilling. This pie will stay soft until it cools completely and is best served chilled so that it’s easy to cut. You can keep it in the fridge for up to a week, but I guarantee it won’t last that long!

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie”


  1. 1 charcoop September 27, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Yummy! I love the switch to fall cooking…

    Regarding eating, no blizzards here! But I do hear you on the “whatever” part. My oldest calls it “flexitarian” and it doesn’t work too well.

    I don’t think I ever told you, the youngest, the one who started us on the vegan trail, totally switched back to including seafood, chicken, eggs and dairy. She’s running 80-90 miles a week, and while vegan, when the trainers would test her in the bod pod, they kept telling her she was losing muscle, gaining fat. She’s only 125 pounds, so didn’t have much muscle to lose! The problem was protein, and the fact she doesn’t have time to make sure she’s eating right. Anyway, she still watches her food and eats a ton of produce, but since adding “meat” back in, she’s gained 5% muscle and lost 2% fat, also shredded her 5k time to 17:55 in the first race of the season, down from 18:45. So, be careful about the protein when you start amping up for 2012!!

    Also, you are so lucky to have Jason! My husband is a complete bear to please, no matter how good it is, he has to have the meat and potatoes. ugh. For what it’s worth, I’m trying to do very low dairy, wheat and sugar. Had some fun in the kitchen over the weekend. One recipe up, more to follow!

    • 2 Melissa McMahon September 27, 2010 at 4:04 pm

      I’m the opposite…I get MORE protein I think vegan because I’m diligent about it. That’s why I worked with a naturopath for so long. I also use a protein powder to top up.
      I made nut loaf over the weekend. At breakfast Jay actually said “I can’t wait for dinner tonight. Leftover nut roast”. Ha ha. I’ll post it in the next little while. I somehow got a sinus infection as a spin-off from a massive allergy attack yesterday. Started antibiotics (yuk) today. Hopefully will feel better in 24 hours…..


Leave a Reply

