No Cow Chocolate Chip Cookies

Jason walked in the door this afternoon and took one look at the pile of cookies cooling on the kitchen counter. The conversation went something like this:

Jason: “Have you photographed these yet?”
Me: “No, not yet.”
Jason: “Can I have one?”
Me: “Yes of course.”
Jason: “Oh my God, photograph these and blog that shit.”

I have a great vegan baking book called “The Joy of Vegan Baking” by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau, however she does use conventional tofu, wheat flour and refined sugars in her book. I have adapted her chocolate chip cookie recipe to avoid these items. So here you go. The Shit Chocolate Chip Cookies…….

Servings:  2 dozen cookies
Prep Time:  30 minutes
Bake Time:  12-15 minutes

3 tbsp egg replacer – make sure you adjust the water requirement according to the directions on the package
6 tbsp water
1 cup non-dairy butter
3/4 cup agave nectar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups spelt flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp sea salt
1 1/2 cups dark chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

I have been lucky to move right behind The Spelt Bakery on Hastings Street where you can buy all sorts of great products.  I used their 100% organic white spelt flour for this recipe.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees fahrenheit. If you don’t have a no-stick cookie sheet, you will have to line a sheet with parchment paper.

In a blender, whip the egg replacer and water together, until it’s thick and creamy. Blending in a blender will result in a better consitency than what you could get if you did it by hand.

In a large bowl (I used my Kitchen Aid mixer but you can also do this by hand), cream the butter and agave until smooth. Add the vanilla and egg replacer mixture and thoroughly combine.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Gradually beat the flour mixture into the wet mixture until it begins to form a dough. When it is almost thoroughly combined, stir in the chocolate chips and the nuts.

Drop the batter onto the cookie sheets about 2″ apart and bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.

I watch my cookies in the oven as I like them to be on the softer side. I check the bottom for doneness (they should be golden brown on the bottom) around the 10 minute mark, making sure not to over-bake.

2 Responses to “No Cow Chocolate Chip Cookies”


  1. 1 Cat Irons September 19, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Yummy….though personally I would need to know what is actually in the fake butter and the fake egg product. You know me Melissa….bit of a food snob! If it’s not real, I ain’t eatin’ it! I love cookies!

    • 2 Melissa McMahon September 19, 2010 at 7:41 pm

      Irons… you should know me by now. Since when do I eat overly processed foods? And… You have the power to choose the brand of your choice! 🙂
      Egg replacer: Potato Starch, tapioca starch flour, leavening (calcium lactate [not derived from dairy], calcium carbonate, citric acid)
      Earth Balance: soybeans, palm fruit, canola and olive oils, filtered water, salt, lactic acid (non-dairy derived from sugar beets), coloured with beta carotene from a plant source


Leave a Reply

