“Cheesy” Kale Chips

I have a potato chip problem; so much so, that I can’t even have them in the house. I love potato chips so much I could do a little dance.  I’m terrible.  In order to get around this I have adapted a healthy version by green chef Juli Novotny…a guiltless, “cheesy”, crispy version of the fatty, unhealthy original.

Servings:  6
Prep Time:  15 minutes
Dehydration:  12 hours

2 bunches of kale

1 cup of cashews, soaked overnight
2tbsp nutritional yeast
juice of two fresh limes
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 red bell peppers roughly chopped
1 tsp sea salt
1 pinch of cracked black pepper
4 cloves garlic

Remove the kale in medium sized pieces (about 2” by 2”) from the main stem. Set aside.

In a food processor, combine all the ingredients except the kale and process until smooth.

Massage the cashew mixture into the kale leaves, making sure that each leaf is coated with the same amount of mixture.  Warning:  this part can get messy as the springy kale tends to flick the coating around the kitchen. Work slowly.

Place the coated kale pieces on dehydrator trays and dehydrate overnight or until crispy.  I have a 6 tray dehydrator and the two bunches of kale just fits perfectly.  I found that mine took about 12 hours to fully dry.

Let me know if these make you chips dance!

2 Responses to ““Cheesy” Kale Chips”


  1. 1 Heather September 19, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    I feel the same way about potato chips! They are the reason that I was a fat vegan….

    Have you tried eating it before you dry it? It sounds like it would make a great side dish as well.

    • 2 Melissa McMahon September 19, 2010 at 2:59 pm

      You know…as I was making it this morning, it kind of reminded me of tossing a ceasar salad together, and the thought crossed my mind, but I didn’t try it raw. May be something to keep in mind for next time. My whole house smells cheesy as these guys “cook” in the dehydrator. Mmmmmmm!!


Leave a comment